Japanese Government Enacts Policy Restricting Entering Japan from Abroad in Order to Contain Coronavirus

Japanese Government Enacts Policy Restricting Entering Japan from Abroad in Order to Contain Coronavirus


Town & Local Area Info

Many people continue to work hard to stop the spread of the new coronavirus infection (COVID-19) across the world. The Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced it will be “Strengthening border measures as a result of the new coronavirus (COVID-19)”. Even under these circumstances, there are most likely people who are considering returning to Japan or coming to Japan for various reasons. For those who live abroad and are considering returning to Japan, or who are looking for information on whether or not they can come to Japan, this article describes Japan’s entry restrictions.

Countries under Temporary Restriction from Entry to Japan

People from the following 73 countries are currently restricted from entering Japan:

East Asia

China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Taiwan, South Korea


South Asia

Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, Philippines, Vietnam, Brunei, Malaysia


Middle East

Iran, Israel, Egypt, Turkey, Bahrain



Iceland, Ireland, Albania, Armenia, Andorra, Italy, United Kingdom, Estonia, Austria, Netherlands, Northern Macedonia, Cyprus, Greece, Croatia, Kosovo, San Marino, Switzerland, Sweden, Spain, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Norway, Vatican, Hungary, Finland, France, Bulgaria, Belgium, Poland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Portugal, Malta, Monaco, Moldova, Montenegro, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Romania


North America

Canada, USA


Latin America

Ecuador, Dominica, Chile, Panama, Brazil, Bolivia



Australia, New Zealand



Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of Congo, Mauritius, Morocco


*Entry to Japan is restricted to all except those of Japanese nationality

*People from other countries not listed above are subject to quarantine

Entry for Those Who Do Not Hold Japanese Nationality / Permanent Resident Status

People from the regions subject to the entry restrictions [Table 1] have been effectively restricted from entering Japan since midnight on April 3, 2020. Even if you come from other regions not on the list that are subject to quarantine, those who temporarily stay in a region subject to immigration restriction within the past 14 days from the time you come to Japan will also be restricted from entering the country.


If you wish to visit Japan from a region subject to quarantine, you will need to apply for a visa from the Japanese Embassy or Consulate, as Japan currently has a temporary suspension of visa exemption. If you have a visa and have not stayed in any restricted region within the last 14 days, you will be admitted. In that case, before leaving the country you are currently in, you are required to self-isolate for 14 days in a secure accommodation and refrain from using public transportation.


Immigration for Japanese Nationals

PCR Test → Await Results → Self-Isolate for 14 days

Those who have Japanese nationality returning from either a region subject to immigration restrictions or quarantine will have to undergo PCR testing at the airport before entering the country. You must wait until the results are available, which takes 1-2 days.


During the waiting period, you are allowed to wait for the results at home in case you have a means of private transportation. If you do not have a means of private transportation, you will need to wait at the designated area in the airport or at a place designated by the quarantine station.


If the test result is negative, you will have to self-quarantine for 14 days from the day after immigration at home or at an accommodation facility such as a hotel at your own expense.

Immigration for Those Who Have Status of Permanent Residency

Those who have permanent residency, are married to a permanent resident, or are foreign nationals who are married to a Japanese national were allowed re-entry until April 2, 2020. Those who have departed for Japan with permission were allowed to enter the country even from the restricted regions.  However, in the case of permanent residents, any departures since April 3 have been restricted from re-entering Japan.


Those with permission were required to carry out a PCR test at the airport and self-isolate at home for 14 days.


Just as those with Japanese nationality, those who have special permanent residency were allowed to enter the country and take a PCR test at the airport, followed by a required self-isolation period of 14 days.


*  *


To fight this infection, it is essential that we all adjust our behavior accordingly in solidarity of each other. Let’s overcome this crisis together.


More articles recommend for you